Science Fiction/Fantasy

Fans of alternate-history novels will find a compelling, thought-provoking story in this thriller/mystery. The setting is a contemporary America in which the Civil War never happened and slavery still exists in the southern states. The main character, Victor, is a former slave who now works for the government hunting escaped slaves who are on the run trying to reach Canada. This is a well written, intriguing and suspenseful read. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
Underground Airlines Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316261258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mulholland Books - July 18th, 2017

Corey J. White’s Killing Gravity draws from sci-fi inspirations as diverse as Aliens, Anne McCaffrey’s The Rowan and even a little Firefly while still managing to create a unique world all its own. Gender-fluid characters and a strong female protagonist make it relevant and timely while the tight-pacing is a welcome change for genre fans tired of 2000-page opuses that collapse under the weight of info dumps and world building. While this is the first entry in White’s The Void Witch Saga, this instalment is more invitation than commitment. - Aaron

Staff Pick Logo
Killing Gravity (Voidwitch Saga #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780765396310
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 9th, 2017

In her atmospheric and steady burn of a novel, Ami McKay pulls as much from historical notes as she does from whispered lore to spin a supernatural web. Two seasoned witches apprentice a young woman who isn't fully aware of her powers, but things don't go as any of them plan. Settle in with a cuppa and be transported to 1880s NYC, where witchcraft is an alluring taboo and an undeniable force in each characters' lives. - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
The Witches of New York: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062359926
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - July 11th, 2017

An epic fantasy that kicks off a trilogy perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time. In a world where magic is criminalized, young Davian discovers he possesses a long-forgotten power. Along with his friend, he embarks on an incredible, expansive journey to stop a terrible evil. With such extraordinarily immersive world-building, you won’t want the trilogy to end! - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
The Shadow of What Was Lost (Licanius Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316274074
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - May 9th, 2017

If 99.009% of the human race died tomorrow but somehow you survived, what would be your next step? For Jamie, it is a quest through the stars to make it back home. But where is home? And who are the people that make home mean something? I was entranced by this exploration of humanity at its worst and at its finest, and by the questions The Space Between the Stars so unabashedly asked. - Jax

Staff Pick Logo
The Space Between the Stars Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399585111
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - June 13th, 2017

A captivating, charming premise involving magic, science, and quantum physics steamrolls into a fast-moving, time-traveling plot with more historical weirdness than anything you’ve seen on Doctor Who. Told through documents, journals, letters, and highly irreverent acronyms, this book delighted me with its offbeat playfulness. I’ll never look at Vikings or a Walmart the same way again. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O.: A Novel Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780062409164
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - June 13th, 2017

You may recall that a few years back our staff was obsessed with M. R. Carey’s The Girl with All the Gifts. If you, like us, loved that book, you are in luck—set ten years before Girl, The Boy on the Bridge is another smart, tense zombie book appropriate even for those like me who don’t usually like zombies. Come for the gore, stay for the characters and the deftly crafted writing! - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
The Boy on the Bridge Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316300339
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - May 2nd, 2017

This debut novel, reminiscent of Nnedi Okorafor, is a fresh and welcome addition to the SFF genre. The South African setting and combination of gods and technology in the world of The Prey of Gods will pique any reader’s interest. “Draydon weaves an engaging story that’s populated by a diverse cast and enhanced by fascinating concepts.” —Publishers Weekly - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
The Prey of Gods Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062493033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - June 13th, 2017

What does it mean to live in a post-scarcity world that can’t let go of capitalism? Walkaway deftly explores this sticky subject and I enjoyed each of its twists and turns. Those who refuse to play by the rules of the old system, those who walk away, discover something the ultra-rich of a dying world desperately want. Set in the near future, this book is a terrifying but also optimistic look at what the world could become. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Walkaway Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765392763
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - April 25th, 2017

A magic school, time travel, hilarious talking birds and the end of the world! Charlie Jane Anders has written a genre-blending, trope-upending coming-of-age tale of two friends—a witch and a time traveler—whose inseparable paths alter the fate of the entire planet. Told in refreshing prose with an unpredictable ending that will leave readers of sci-fi and fantasy satisfied, All the Birds is a futuristic fairy tale for all. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
All the Birds in the Sky Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765379955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 11th, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060