Poetry

Beowulf is one of the great epics of the Western tradition, and one of the main inspirations for JRR Tolkien's collection of stories set in Middle Earth. Following Beowulf from his dramatic arrival through his heroic trials to the end of his life, this version also includes direct translations from Old English and commentary from Tolkien himself. - Ian

Staff Pick Logo
Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780544570306
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - August 4th, 2015

The most concise array of observations about humanity that I have ever seen blended into one book of poetry. This collection is stunning; since its release in 2015, it has offered a swift kick in the gut to everyone with whom I've shared it, and an intense, immediate declaration, "this is good." Impossible to pass up; dark, beautiful and perfect, you'll reread it many times. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
Application for Release from the Dream: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977184
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 1st, 2015

A debut collection and my favorite poetry release of 2016. Incredibly beautiful and artful, with affecting imagery, intelligent allusions, small pieces of language like glass shards perfectly placed to catch you in the heart. Ideal for fans of Rankine's Citizen. Bennett is an exceptional writer, almost mandatory reading. I looked up each reference as I went, and then read it straight through the second I'd finished. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
The Sobbing School Cover Image
By Joshua Bennett, Eugene Gloria (Selected by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143111863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 27th, 2016

I first was introduced to Sarah Kay via her TedTalk called If I Should Have a Daughter where she recites two poems from this book as well as speak about how she uses poetry to figure out life's nuances. This is showcased in the book. I am in love with the poem "B" as well as "Postcards." - Karena

Staff Pick Logo
No Matter the Wreckage Cover Image
By Sarah Kay, Sophia Janowitz (Illustrator)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781938912481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - March 18th, 2014

If you enjoy Collins’ light, conversational style, you will enjoy this new collection. Full of accessible poems about (mostly) familiar subjects, written in the slyly humorous style that I do so love, The Rain in Portugal is thought provoking and entertaining. Collins has a knack for taking a serious poem and sending it twisting into whimsy and for finding the hidden depth in a moment of frivolity. —Nici

Staff Pick Logo
The Rain in Portugal: Poems Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780679644064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - October 4th, 2016

Sharon Olds brings the age-old form of the ode to new life in this powerful, charming collection of poems. Always provocative, intelligent, searing, and playful, full of direct and sidelong truths, Olds addresses the woman, the body, its politics and relationships, its triumphs and changes over time. Inspired by Neruda’s odes to common things, her new book begins delightfully with “Ode to the Hymen” and delivers equally on the illumination of this wonderful, complicated life. —Melinda

 

Staff Pick Logo
Odes Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780451493620
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - September 20th, 2016

This is the sort of poetry that leans on prose—is direct, is conversational—but that is so imagistic, brazen, and obsessed with meaning that each word imprints itself on your very bones. I love this collection. Ruefle looks at the world with a wry, mature gaze, resulting in a work definitional and sometimes dark but also too beautiful to be entirely jaded. I had the uncomfortable impression that she was staring into my eyes and advising me, woman to woman, on how to live. —a.c.

 

Staff Pick Logo
My Private Property Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781940696386
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wave Books - October 4th, 2016

In 2013, New Directions published The Gorgeous Nothings, an exquisite collector’s edition of Emily Dickinson’s envelope poems in rich facsimile. These handwritten poems and musings, scribbled on the backs of envelopes, are now available in a curated gift format, still beautifully reproduced with facing-page text translation but now irresistibly affordable. With pieces like “But are not all Facts Dreams as soon as we put them behind us” captured, this is a surefire way to appreciate and inspire.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Envelope Poems Cover Image
By Emily Dickinson, Jen Bervin (Editor), Marta Werner (Editor)
$12.95
ISBN: 9780811225823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - October 4th, 2016

Kate Tempest writes not with the beat of the heart, but with the force of the tide, the world’s pulse, pulling you inexorably in and out as the dirt and breath and sex of the everyday is revealed to also be the mythic. Starting from the Greek story of Tiresias, the blind prophet once woman, now man, Tempest’s poetry is beautiful, rude, legendary, and immediate, exploring what it means to be human in this world. —Jocelyn
Staff Pick Logo
Hold Your Own: Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781632862051
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - March 10th, 2015

“Nobel laureate Szymborska’s gorgeous posthumous collection, translated and edited by her confidant, Cavanagh, with Baranczak, includes more than 250 poems, selected from 13 books, dating back to 1952, as well as previously unreleased poems from as far back as 1944. This is a brilliant and important collection.” —Booklist, starred review

Staff Pick Logo
Map: Collected and Last Poems Cover Image
By Wislawa Szymborska, Stanislaw Baranczak (Translator), Clare Cavanagh (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780544705159
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - April 12th, 2016

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060