Mind, Body & Spirit

Sacks always had a talent for making complex science accessible to the average reader, and in this work, one of two he was writing before his death, he focuses on the essence of the human experience. The essays in this collection vary by topic—from Darwin and evolution to Freud and physiology—and length and display Sacks’s mastery of the written word. - Aric

Staff Pick Logo
The River of Consciousness Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780385352567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 24th, 2017

I was immediately struck by the beauty of this book, which also contains an impressive survey of Buddhist teachings and is full of insights and instructions to assist us on our spiritual path. Jack Kornfield writes an excellent introduction and makes a case for this as an important addition to a personal collection of books on Eastern wisdom. For me, it was the many color-plated images of rare Tibetan paintings and sculptures that kept me turning pages. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Pure Joy of Being: An Illustrated Introduction to the Story of the Buddha and the Practice of Meditation Cover Image
By Fabrice Midal, Jack Kornfield (Foreword by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781611804843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - October 17th, 2017

Goleman and Davidson have written a readable and well-researched book that draws on not just the benefits of mindfulness but the brain research on what happens within our body that makes meditation and focused awareness quiet and center us as much as it does. They argue that while the benefits of mindfulness are tenfold, it is important to also have an understanding of the whys and hows of the practice so it does not simply become a cultural phenomenon that gets diluted and loses its worth. With tips, research, and explanation, this book is a wonderful read for those who want to deepen and understand the workings behind their mindfulness practice. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Logo
Altered Traits: Science Reveals How Meditation Changes Your Mind, Brain, and Body Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399184383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avery Publishing Group - September 5th, 2017

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Dharma of the Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us about Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

I’m a lifelong misfit who has never felt inclined to fit in. While I’ve been lucky to find kindred misfit spirits here at Bookshop, I know others may not have yet, so I’m thrilled with this short but powerful TedTalk book that looks at the power and necessity of misfits. If you’re a misfit, you’ll feel seen and inspired. If you’re not, you’ll gain a better understanding of, and appreciation for, the misfits among us! - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
The Misfit's Manifesto Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501120060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/ Ted - October 24th, 2017

In the way that Oliver Sacks revealed the complexity and deep heart that exists in the world of neurology, Irvin Yalom has long written books that reveal the bravery and nuances that exist within our relationships with one another (Love’s Executioner, one of Yalom’s early works, remains one of the most poignant nonfiction books I have ever read). Now in his 80s, Yalom turns toward a study of self and memory as a means of discovery. In a blend of traditional memoir and funny imaginings between his older and younger self, Yalom speaks with humor and heart about his upbringing with detached parents, his own foibles at becoming a psychiatrist, and the way that aging is an opportunity for an entirely new way of knowing and understanding the world. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Logo
Becoming Myself: A Psychiatrist's Memoir Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780465098897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - October 3rd, 2017

In these times, we could all use a little light, beauty and inspiration—and Oprah’s gorgeous new offering is just the tonic. Open to any page and find a stunning photo, an essay by Oprah, or a short piece of conversational insight from Elizabeth Gilbert, Thich Nhat Hanh, Shonda Rhimes, and more. It’s the loveliest bit of breakfast table reading, so breathe deep and enjoy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Wisdom of Sundays: Life-Changing Insights from Super Soul Conversations Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250138064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 17th, 2017

This is the most interesting and consequential book I’ve read in quite some time. Drawing on a wealth of research, UC Berkeley’s Matthew Walker presents a compelling argument that the power of sleep and dreams, properly utilized, can enhance the everyday lives of individuals and even society at large. Discard everything you thought you knew about sleep, read this book, change your habits, and reap the significant benefits of consistent quality sleep. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781501144318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 3rd, 2017

Just be, Grasshopper. You are ready to practice Zen now. This is one of the very best books on Zen ever written. Written by the founder of the San Francisco Zen Center, Suzuki Roshi designed this to be read by experienced meditators and novices alike. No need for more words at this time. Just read. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind Cover Image
By Shunryu Suzuki, Trudy Dixon (Editor), Huston Smith (Preface by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590308493
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala Publications - June 28th, 2011

What is everyone were truly awake? In this bestselling follow up to The Power of Now, Tolle imagines a world in which all people have had a spiritual awakening, giving us a new Utopian blueprint. He expands on the message of being fully present, and offers an optimistic vision for all of civilization. In what can often seem like discouraging times, this is an inspiring book. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780452289963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Plume Books - January 30th, 2008

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060