Young Reader

There are enough hidden tunnels, concealed traps, and enigmatic secrets, hair-raising surprises, quirky characters, and ethical dilemmas to keep the plot buzzing. Fans of the Mysterious Benedict Society series will welcome Stewart’s latest puzzling adventure, whose seemingly ordinary hero [11-year-old Reuben] proves quite extraordinary. Grades 5 and up.Kirkus

The Secret Keepers Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316389549
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2017

Unrhymed sonnets tell the story of Nelson’s 1950s youth, spent mostly on air force bases and in predominantly white communities. A culminating scene—in which she must read aloud a poem containing racist language—leads to a realization of the power of words. Black-and-white photographs and spare, blue-tinted illustrations allow readers space to visualize Nelson’s detailed imagery. Grades 6 and up. —Horn Book Fanfare 2014

How I Discovered Poetry Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780147510051
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - March 8th, 2016

Everyone needs Gracie to be fine. So, she’s fine with people accidentally bringing up her sister who died before she was born. She’s fine when her crush, AJ, turns out to have feelings for her best friend, Sienna. She’s even fine when Sienna asks her to write text messages to AJ for her, like some sort of middle school Cyrano. Engaging and well written. Gracie’s hilarious voice shines in an otherwise awkward situation. Grades 6–8. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Well, That Was Awkward Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147513984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - February 27th, 2018

Clayton Byrd yearns to be, like the grandfather he misses, “a true bluesman among bluesmen.” Musical in its language, this novel is both an homage to the blues and an exploration of familiar territory for Williams-Garcia, asking (as she did in the just-about-perfect One Crazy Summer) if a person can be singularly devoted to their art and still be a responsible and loving parent. An interesting examination of an artist’s life and choices. Grades 4–7. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062215918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amistad - May 9th, 2017

This blend of historical fiction and selkie mythology packs a punch even greater than its cinematic adaptation, John Sayles’s film The Secret of Roan Inish. Young Fiona McConville has returned to the small cluster of Scottish islands to stay with her grandparents. When she sees Jamie—her younger brother who was lost at sea years before—alive and running about the abandoned island of Ron Mor, she is determined to reconnect with him. In language both poetic and practical, Fry captures the mystery and magic of the sea and the voice of the Scottish fishing families who call it home. Perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables or Sarah, Plain and Tall. Ages 8–11. - Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry Cover Image
By Rosalie K. Fry, Rosalie K. Fry (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781681371665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYR Children's Collection - October 24th, 2017

A smart, environmentally conscious underdog story with a lot of heart and a little sci-fi…rewardingly complex. Grades 4–7.  —Horn Book Magazine, starred review

Staff Pick Logo
Me and Marvin Gardens Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545870740
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - January 31st, 2017

This sea salt-skinned, sun-limned historical novel (1920s Cape Cod) is comforting and dangerous in equal measure. Crow’s contentment living on the island with the painter Osh (and neighbor Miss Maggie) is unmistakable. Osh rescued Crow when she skiffed ashore as a newborn 12 years prior, and only recently is Crow asking herself, “From where?” An abandoned leper colony, a treasure, and an unconscionable thief are all part of the answer in this possible Newbery contender. Grades 4–8. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Beyond the Bright Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101994856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

A plane crashes in the Amazon rainforest, and four children pull together to survive in this lush world, utterly alien to them. The flora and fauna, along with the smells, tastes, and sounds of the jungle, are vivid and sometimes terrifying. A secondary theme, winding like the river the children raft, examines the nature of curiosity, exploration, and imperialism. An environmentally aware, Amazonian adrenaline story for fans of Hatchet. Grades 4–8. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
The Explorer Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481419451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 12th, 2017

Through the San Francisco fog, clear-eyed 11-year-old Marin navigates the foster care system while waiting for her mother (who left years earlier) to return. When Dr. Lucy Chang steps up as a loving adoptive mother, tectonic plates shift and so does Marin’s understanding of family. An element of magical realism whisks through the fog in this old-fashioned, completely modern, short, tender novel. Grades 4–6. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Three Pennies Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481471879
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

Ten stories, edited by Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books, begin with Matt de la Peña’s terrific, subtle basketball story “How to Transform an Everyday Ordinary Hoop Court Into a Place of Higher Learning and You at the Podium.” This unusually strong collection of short stories for 4th- to 7th-graders continues with authors you know, like Grace Lin and Jacqueline Woodson (her story broke my heart, she keeps doing that), and others you may not know yet. Ages 9–13. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Flying Lessons & Other Stories Cover Image
By Ellen Oh (Editor)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101934593
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060