Molly's Reviews

This blend of historical fiction and selkie mythology packs a punch even greater than its cinematic adaptation, John Sayles’s film The Secret of Roan Inish. Young Fiona McConville has returned to the small cluster of Scottish islands to stay with her grandparents. When she sees Jamie—her younger brother who was lost at sea years before—alive and running about the abandoned island of Ron Mor, she is determined to reconnect with him. In language both poetic and practical, Fry captures the mystery and magic of the sea and the voice of the Scottish fishing families who call it home. Perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables or Sarah, Plain and Tall. Ages 8–11. - Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry Cover Image
By Rosalie K. Fry, Rosalie K. Fry (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781681371665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review of Books - October 24th, 2017

Are you a student of design? A lover of understated luxury? I dare you to walk away from this book of impeccable interiors—wall treatments that will saturate your senses, mid-century modern delights at every turn—by Christiane Lemieux, founder of DwellStudio. If you appreciate timeless design, you’ll want this gorgeous book on your coffee table.  —Molly

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Finer Things: Timeless Furniture, Textiles, and Details Cover Image
By Christiane LeMieux, Miles Redd (Foreword by)
$60.00
ISBN: 9780770434298
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - September 6th, 2016

It should be no surprise that artistic icon Marina Abramovi´c’s writing voice is lucid and that her stories captivate as well as devastate. In this book that will appeal to students of spirituality and art, Abramovi´c includes diary entries from performances that touch on the transcendent states she reaches while performing. If you enjoy Patti Smith’s memoirs or Kim Gordon’s Girl in a Band, you will devour this book. —Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Walk Through Walls: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101905043
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Archetype - October 25th, 2016

Wesley Lowery began covering the Black Lives Matter movement in August 2014, during the protests in Ferguson, Missouri, over the death of Michael Brown. What he thought would be a few days of journalism became several months of covering the activism surrounding the troubling and ever-growing list of names at the heart of the Black Lives Matter movement. They Can’t Kill Us All is Lowery’s reflection, sourced from his own notes and experiences. —Molly

 

Staff Pick Logo
They Can't Kill Us All: Ferguson, Baltimore, and a New Era in America's Racial Justice Movement Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316312479
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - November 15th, 2016

When an artist becomes so famous as to be ubiquitous it can make their work seem safe, apolitical, and even boring. Years of seeing Claude Monet’s water lilies on countless mugs, cutting boards and other tchotchkes has had this effect. This book opens up the completely devastating, radical and gorgeous life of Monet—a man who painted through blindness and depression, and who would not allow a single flower at his funeral.  —Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781632860125
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 6th, 2016

Full disclosure: if you were one of those kids who hated math in school this book may not be for you. However, if you had even a low tolerance for fancy number work you should check this book out. Though the book’s foreword warns it won’t make you a computer expert by the end, you’ll feel like one. Heck, you’ll feel like a computer genius. You go Mr. or Mrs. Future Bill Gates! You understand public key cryptography now; you too can rule the world!! –Molly
Staff Pick Logo
Nine Algorithms That Changed the Future: The Ingenious Ideas That Drive Today's Computers Cover Image
By John Maccormick, Chris Bishop (Foreword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780691158198
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Princeton University Press - May 5th, 2013

Back when Philip Glass’ father owned a record store, record companies would take back broken records for a deposit. The Glass family regarded music instruction as part of a rounded education, so Philip and his brother took weekly music lessons. They would also smash records for their father’s business. In this autobiography, Glass explains the trajectory of his illustrious career, with charming details that clue us in as to how he became not just a talented composer but a groundbreaking and controversial artist.  —Molly

 

Staff Pick Logo
Words Without Music: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781631491436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - May 3rd, 2016

So, how did a small town in upstate New York turn into an artistic haven? If you’re a music fan you must read this book to find out. The cast of characters will be exactly who you expect, but not how you expected them. Because, in hindsight, what could a band of men singing sea-shanties in a pink house really have in common with the preeminent guitarist of psychedelic rock?  —Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Small Town Talk: Bob Dylan, the Band, Van Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and Friends in the Wild Years of Woodstock Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780306823206
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Da Capo Press - March 8th, 2016

From the author of Psychic Soviet comes another collection of essays that will make you wonder: is this satire? Well dude, you wish this was f***ing satire.  –Molly

Staff Pick Logo
Censorship Now!! Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781617754098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Akashic Books - November 3rd, 2015

When it comes to music, a guy with an opinion is a cognoscente while a chick must be a drooling fangirl. Teenage girls are the number one purchasers of music, and yet too often when women care about culture it is assumed to be for superficial, and thus invalid reasons. You should buy this book because Jessica Hopper's work exists to expand the world of music connoisseurship beyond these tired polarities. Unless of course you're part of that sacred cabal of "men" who "get it." There are plenty of Bob Dylan books in the music section, filed under D. –Molly

Staff Pick Logo
The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780983186335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Featherproof Books - May 12th, 2015

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060