MacMillan

Roz Chast is a master of the graphic memoir. Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant pushed the very boundaries of the genre, showing the world that comics are so much more than “just comic books.” Her new volume promises both an insider and outsider view of Manhattan, a strange yet beautiful city. I can’t wait to crack this one open and soak up Chast’s newest love letter to New York City. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Going Into Town: A Love Letter to New York Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781620403211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - October 3rd, 2017

Danez Smith is a gift to poetry and social discourse, with insights concise and cutting, “tongue rot with gospel / & other glories.” This sophomore piece looks staggering so far. Don’t Call Us Dead explores mortality through a more beautiful question: After trauma, how does the collective black body under attack approach a better world? Smith gives black boys lost to systemic violence a voice, which through their poetry insists “please don’t call / us dead. Call us alive someplace better.” - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
Don't Call Us Dead: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 5th, 2017

Eugenides is one of those great old-timey writers, like Tolstoy or Dickens, who tell big, sweeping stories that somehow still feel specific and intimate to his characters, and he does it with compassion and a sad-funny tone that keeps you glued to the page. Though he’s been publishing for almost 25 years, somehow we’re only now getting his first collection of short fiction. As a huge fan of his two previous novels, Middlesex and The Marriage Plot, I can’t wait to see what he does with the shorter form. - Rico

Staff Pick Logo
Fresh Complaint: Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374203061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - October 3rd, 2017

Reading the stories in Her Body and Other Parties has been among the memorable literary pleasures of 2017. Carmen Maria Machado writes with fearless exploration, precision, and tenderness that would prompt envy if gratitude and admiration weren’t first to arrive on the scene. From the lovely, apocalyptic love story “Inventory” to the dizzying and original “Especially Heinous,” Machado’s work is curious, inventive, and thrilling. It’s feminist and pop culture, classic and weird; the stories are complex and the characters are haunting. What a debut! - Chorel

Staff Pick Logo
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

This novel is simply exquisite. I loved every quiet, joyous, heart-bursting, heart-breaking, contemplative moment of it. Deeply immersed in turn of the 20th century Catholic Brooklyn, McDermott unspools and weaves together the lives affected by one man’s life-ending decision, as his widowed wife, their infant daughter, and the Little Nursing Sisters of the Sick Poor come to understand the power of friendship and loyalty, and the nuances of faith and forgiveness. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Ninth Hour Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374280147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - September 19th, 2017

Captivating historical fiction about a priceless painting, the painter who created it, the man who inherited it, and the celebrated art historian who created a forgery of it.  Smith skillfully weaves a multi-layered story narrated by the painter Sara de Vos in 17th century Amsterdam, the owner Marty de Groot in 1957 New York, and the forger Ellie Shipley in 2000 Sydney Australia. - Trey

Staff Pick Logo
The Last Painting of Sara De Vos Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250118325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - April 4th, 2017

A sublime collection of speculative, dystopian short stories. Weinstein’s near-future is full of isolating cybersex, social media implants and memory manufacturers. A father has to deal with his malfunctioning robot son. A suburban town has to decide which local kid to shoot off into space. Perfect for fans of George Saunders or Phillip K. Dick. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Children of the New World: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250098993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - September 13th, 2016

Hassan Blasim, author of the haunting book The Corpse Exhibition, has assembled science fiction stories from Iraqi writers, all set 100 years after the U.S. occupation of Iraq. These stories demonstrate how Iraq's past will influence its future by blending history with fantastical technology. The defiance to imagine the future so creatively when at times even the arrival of the next day is uncertain is the spirit of this collection. - Louise

Staff Pick Logo
Iraq + 100: The First Anthology of Science Fiction to Have Emerged from Iraq Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250161321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 12th, 2017

The year is 2044, and a performance enhancing drug is causing people to work themselves to death. Tractor Jack, a female drug pirate with a submarine, embarks upon a mission to stop the spread of the deadly drug before it becomes an epidemic. An unlikely man-robot love affair sweetens an otherwise dystopian storyline. The political undertone (a pharmaceutical big bad, human and A.I. trafficking) echoes Margaret Atwood. This is my early pick for best Sci-Fi book of the year. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
Autonomous Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765392077
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 19th, 2017

It’s hard to imagine a memoir about one heartbroken single-ish mother’s struggle through the medical system to save her infant daughter being warm and joyful, and yet this book is exactly that. Harpham writes with such grace, honesty and humor, it is easy to follow her through the harrowing moments of her journey with her daughter Gracie and to discover with her the many different ways love and support can manifest and lead to outright joy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Happiness: A Memoir: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781250131560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - August 1st, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060