MacMillan

Everything I’ve tried from this new Moosewood cookbook has been excellent, from So Simple Banana Pancakes to Mushroom and Barley Salad. I love the diversity of recipes throughout (Nori Kale Rolls on one page, Russian Blinis on the next) and that the ingredients are inexpensive. I highly recommend this new book from the always excellent Moosewood Collective. - Ashley

Staff Pick Logo
The Moosewood Restaurant Table: 250 Brand-New Recipes from the Natural Foods Restaurant That Revolutionized Eating in America Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250074331
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 26th, 2017

In Autentico’s foreword, Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa), writes about Rolando Beramendi’s incredible enthusiasm for Italian food and for life. That joy and vibrancy certainly come through on every page of this beautiful book, which is equally a pleasure to read and cook from. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself, as I did, becoming more enamored with anchovies and olive oil than you ever thought possible. - S.B.

Staff Pick Logo
Autentico: Cooking Italian, the Authentic Way Cover Image
By Rolando Beramendi, Rebekah Peppler (Contributions by), Laurie Frankel (Photographs by), Ina Garten (Foreword by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250124975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 24th, 2017

While longtime admirers of Stevie Nicks won’t find any new revelations within these pages, the book is still a lovingly crafted biography about the goddess of rock. Respected music biographer Stephen Davis (who cowrote Fleetwood with Mick Fleetwood) follows all the heartbreaks, drama, drugs, and magic that fueled Nicks and her songwriting. Gold Dust Woman documents how Nicks used her talent to create the life of fame and success in which she continues to reign. - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
Gold Dust Woman: The Biography of Stevie Nicks Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250032898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 21st, 2017

Joni Mitchell has played with some of the greatest musicians in the world and her music has inspired even more. She’s best known for her incredible lyrics and beautiful, lilting voice (seriously, where is her Nobel Prize?), but she has lived an incredibly full life beyond her music, which David Yaffe chronicles in his new book. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374248130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - October 17th, 2017

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Dharma of The Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us About Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

In these times, we could all use a little light, beauty and inspiration—and Oprah’s gorgeous new offering is just the tonic. Open to any page and find a stunning photo, an essay by Oprah, or a short piece of conversational insight from Elizabeth Gilbert, Thich Nhat Hanh, Shonda Rhimes, and more. It’s the loveliest bit of breakfast table reading, so breathe deep and enjoy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Wisdom of Sundays: Life-Changing Insights from Super Soul Conversations Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250138064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 17th, 2017

In a northeast Asian–influenced fantasy world, two young women are tethered by destiny. The Tiger’s Daughter is the kind of book you find yourself tumbling into: falling into the immersive world and lore; caring for the fierce, headstrong heroines; losing yourself in the story. The writing sweeps you along with a lilting cadence—my copy is thick with tags marking passages I loved. I was swept away by this creation and can’t wait for the sequel. - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
The Tiger's Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765392534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 3rd, 2017

Hidden deep in the Canadian wilderness, the town of Rockton is cut off from all society, inhabited by those in need of a total reset in life, fleeing all varieties of danger in their past. As Detective Casey Duncan knows, some of those inhabitants never let go of their dark side—and that darkness is what she’s there to root out. I’m hopelessly in love with this smart, chilly series and can’t wait for more. - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
A Darkness Absolute: A Rockton Novel (Casey Duncan Novels #2) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250092182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - November 14th, 2017

Roz Chast is a master of the graphic memoir. Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant pushed the very boundaries of the genre, showing the world that comics are so much more than “just comic books.” Her new volume promises both an insider and outsider view of Manhattan, a strange yet beautiful city. I can’t wait to crack this one open and soak up Chast’s newest love letter to New York City. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Going Into Town: A Love Letter to New York Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781620403211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - October 3rd, 2017

Danez Smith is a gift to poetry and social discourse, with insights concise and cutting, “tongue rot with gospel / & other glories.” This sophomore piece looks staggering so far. Don’t Call Us Dead explores mortality through a more beautiful question: After trauma, how does the collective black body under attack approach a better world? Smith gives black boys lost to systemic violence a voice, which through their poetry insists “please don’t call / us dead. Call us alive someplace better.” - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
Don't Call Us Dead: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 5th, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060