MacMillan

Sasha loves Russia, languages that don’t contain binary genders, and the way their skirt feels against their legs. Richard just got back from a juvenile residential program in Redding. He says he never got a childhood, so he’s always making jokes, pulling pranks. His friends and mentors think he might be the one to get out of their rough neighborhood in Oakland. Between their lives runs the 57 bus and a brief encounter that will make their actions erupt onto the world’s screen. The 57 Bus reads like a gorgeous young adult novel—one of the best books I’ve read this year—but it’s based on a true story, heartbreaking, eye opening and, surprisingly, filled with hope. Ages 12 and up. - Tera

Staff Pick Logo
The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374303235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - October 17th, 2017

Everyone knows who Vincent Van Gogh is. But do they? Or do you have to know his brother Theo to know Vincent? With delicate strokes, National Book Award winner Heiligman paints the picture of the closeness of two brothers and the making of an artist. An evocative story for art lovers and readers of finely tuned biographies. Ages 13 and up. - Tera

Staff Pick Logo
Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780805093391
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 18th, 2017

A child, coming home from school in her red-hooded parka, leans into a white prairie blizzard. On her way, she finds a wolf pup lost and frightened and carries it over hills and streams, through fields and woods, delivering it to its family. Exhausted, she starts home but loses her way. The wolves return, surrounding her, and howl and howl until her parents arrive. A last scene is a firelit interior, the child and her family, steaming mugs in hand, sitting by the hearth. Hearty heartfelt applause from me. Grades K–2. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Wolf in the Snow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250076366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 3rd, 2017

A father and daughter break down their creekside campsite, stow gear, and climb out of the Inner Gorge and up through layer after layer of ancient rock formations and ecosystems to the top of the Grand Canyon. Jason Chin’s clear, scenic watercolors and detailed text give us a sense of geological time, which (though illustrated with scientific specificity) seems in fact magical. Grades 1–4. - Ga

Staff Pick Logo
Grand Canyon Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781596439504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 21st, 2017

Everything I’ve tried from this new Moosewood cookbook has been excellent, from So Simple Banana Pancakes to Mushroom and Barley Salad. I love the diversity of recipes throughout (Nori Kale Rolls on one page, Russian Blinis on the next) and that the ingredients are inexpensive. I highly recommend this new book from the always excellent Moosewood Collective. - Ashley

Staff Pick Logo
The Moosewood Restaurant Table: 250 Brand-New Recipes from the Natural Foods Restaurant That Revolutionized Eating in America Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250074331
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 26th, 2017

In Autentico’s foreword, Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa), writes about Rolando Beramendi’s incredible enthusiasm for Italian food and for life. That joy and vibrancy certainly come through on every page of this beautiful book, which is equally a pleasure to read and cook from. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself, as I did, becoming more enamored with anchovies and olive oil than you ever thought possible. - S.B.

Staff Pick Logo
Autentico: Cooking Italian, the Authentic Way Cover Image
By Rolando Beramendi, Rebekah Peppler (Contribution by), Laurie Frankel (Photographer)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250124975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 24th, 2017

While longtime admirers of Stevie Nicks won’t find any new revelations within these pages, the book is still a lovingly crafted biography about the goddess of rock. Respected music biographer Stephen Davis (who cowrote Fleetwood with Mick Fleetwood) follows all the heartbreaks, drama, drugs, and magic that fueled Nicks and her songwriting. Gold Dust Woman documents how Nicks used her talent to create the life of fame and success in which she continues to reign. - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
Gold Dust Woman: The Biography of Stevie Nicks Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250032898
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 21st, 2017

Joni Mitchell has played with some of the greatest musicians in the world and her music has inspired even more. She’s best known for her incredible lyrics and beautiful, lilting voice (seriously, where is her Nobel Prize?), but she has lived an incredibly full life beyond her music, which David Yaffe chronicles in his new book. - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374248130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - October 17th, 2017

Was Fezzik a Bodhisattva? How do I practice compassion toward Ted Cruz (who is apparently a huge fan of the movie)? In this wise and funny book, Nichtern interweaves personal stories about his own romantic relationships with the love life of Princess Bride’s Westley and Buttercup, all the while teaching the Dharma. It works on every level. Fans of Benjamin Hoff’s The Tao of Pooh and Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance will enjoy this unique book as will, of course, lovers of The Princess Bride. - Jason

Staff Pick Logo
The Dharma of the Princess Bride: What the Coolest Fairy Tale of Our Time Can Teach Us about Buddhism and Relationships Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865477766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Point Press - September 12th, 2017

In these times, we could all use a little light, beauty and inspiration—and Oprah’s gorgeous new offering is just the tonic. Open to any page and find a stunning photo, an essay by Oprah, or a short piece of conversational insight from Elizabeth Gilbert, Thich Nhat Hanh, Shonda Rhimes, and more. It’s the loveliest bit of breakfast table reading, so breathe deep and enjoy. - Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
The Wisdom of Sundays: Life-Changing Insights from Super Soul Conversations Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250138064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - October 17th, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060