Hachette

Mozart had a starling, and so does Lyanda Lynn Haupt, who stole hers from a soon-to-be-destroyed nest while watching for errant soccer players. Carmen was meant to be a research aid, a connection to Mozart’s pet. She soon came to be much more, the bright spot of love and delight at the center of this book that explores history, science, music theory, linguistics, astrophysics, and yes, Mozart. Delightful, informative, playful, and cosmic, Mozart’s Starling connects humanity to a natural, harmonious order, starting with a starling. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Mozart's Starling Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316370899
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 4th, 2017

In 2006, Al Franken was a writer, actor, talk radio host, and comedian on Saturday Night Live. In 2007, Franken was running for Senate against a conservative incumbent. In 2009, Franken became a U.S. senator, representing Minnesota. He has written since but never about his own journey from entertainer to lawmaker. Until now. We are fortunate, because when else would be better to read about the underdog fighting to take part in the political process? - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Logo
Al Franken, Giant of the Senate Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781455540419
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Twelve - May 30th, 2017

Sherman Alexie has written a memoir! My anticipation of this book is brimming to the boiling point. Alexie, known for his sharp wit and gifted storytelling, has turned his focus to the personal. After his mother died, Alexie used writing to deal with his grief, and in this collage of essays, photos, and poems, he gives a window onto his life growing up poor on an Indian reservation. With humor, anger, wit, and raw, poignant love, Alexie also writes of the life of his mother—a complex woman who helped shape the writer and man that Alexie would become. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Logo
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316270755
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - June 13th, 2017

John Powell, a physicist with a master’s degree in music composition, adds another volume to the compendium of obsessive, awesome scientists from different disciplines trying to determine why music affects us so much. In this exploration, though he draws on psychology, Powell takes particular notice of music in the context of daily, regular human experience and how it amplifies an already good life. - a.c.

Staff Pick Logo
Why You Love Music: From Mozart to Metallica--The Emotional Power of Beautiful Sounds Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316260671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - May 2nd, 2017

My mother introduced me to David Sedaris’s work when I was (far too) young. That alone probably says a lot about how I turned out. Sedaris is a master of wicked humor, and during his lecture tours he often reads excerpts from his diaries to the eager crowd. They are funny, insightful, and more than a little snarky, and he is finally releasing some of them for our reading pleasure. I can’t wait! - Ivy

Staff Pick Logo
Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316154727
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - May 30th, 2017

An epic fantasy that kicks off a trilogy perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time. In a world where magic is criminalized, young Davian discovers he possesses a long-forgotten power. Along with his friend, he embarks on an incredible, expansive journey to stop a terrible evil. With such extraordinarily immersive world-building, you won’t want the trilogy to end! - Kelly

Staff Pick Logo
The Shadow of What Was Lost (Licanius Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316274074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - May 9th, 2017

You may recall that a few years back our staff was obsessed with M. R. Carey’s The Girl with All the Gifts. If you, like us, loved that book, you are in luck—set ten years before Girl, The Boy on the Bridge is another smart, tense zombie book appropriate even for those like me who don’t usually like zombies. Come for the gore, stay for the characters and the deftly crafted writing! - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
The Boy on the Bridge Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316300339
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - May 2nd, 2017

Megan Abbot is the queen of nourishing family dramas unfolding around troubled teen girls, and this is her best yet. Katie Knox’s daughter Devon is a gymnastics prodigy, and Katie and her husband will do whatever it takes to see Devon’s dreams realized. When a death happens in the supposedly tight-knit gymnastics gym, fractures in both family and community expose unpleasant truths. I was completely sucked in and didn’t want to put it down. - Flannery

Staff Pick Logo
You Will Know Me Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316231060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 25th, 2017

Praised by Anthony Doerr (All the Light We Cannot See), this book immediately caught my eye. It is not an easy story to read, but it transcends despair with imaginative grace and voice. The book opens with 12-year-old twin sisters Stacha and Pearl as they enter Auschwitz, selected to be participants in Josef Mengele’s “Zoo.” Alternating between each sister’s point of view, Mischling is a lyrical tale of survival, loyalty, and love, where children create meaning and magic despite their surroundings; a beautiful read that had a profound impact. - S.M.C.

Staff Pick Logo
Mischling Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316308090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lee Boudreaux / Back Bay Books - May 30th, 2017

The author of this penetrating debut novel about the early days of the war with Iraq is an Army veteran who served there. What you see through the characters’ eyes won’t soon be forgotten: the mundanity and violence of war; the adversity faced by female soldiers within a decidedly male culture. Van Reet’s gift for narrative, his ability to evoke the nuances of place and culture, and his cast of characters create a haunting and tragic story of the dysfunction of contemporary war. - Chorel

Staff Pick Logo
Spoils Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780316316163
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Lee Boudreaux Books - April 18th, 2017

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060