If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery Cover Image
$25.00
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 17 12:45am
(HARDBACK NONFICTION)

Staff Reviews


As a fan of Furiously Happy and Hyperbole and a Half (both of which focus on the emotional illogic of different mental illnesses), I was hoping to enjoy this book, but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. Dr. Lipska balances her own diagnoses with her professional knowledge and the raw experiences of herself and her family. Alternating diagnostic chapters with personal ones, this is an intimate, well-rounded look at what it means to briefly lose control of one's mind and the struggle to regain it.

— Rachel

Description


As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness--only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind.

In January 2015, Barbara Lipska--a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness--was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity.

In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, even when so much else is gone.


Coverage from NPR



Product Details
ISBN: 9781328787309
ISBN-10: 1328787303
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date: April 3rd, 2018
Pages: 208
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060