If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

And I Darken (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 12:45am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


You’ve heard of Vlad the Impaler – real-life basis for the legend of Dracula. This book turns Vlad into a brilliant, vicious teen girl named Lada. Set in the 15th century Ottoman Empire, the book weaves a vivid tale of family ties, courtly politics, and romance, with fully realized, complex characters. A must for any lover of historical fiction or badass girls.

— Flannery

Description


The New York Times Bestseller

"Absolutely riveting." --Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won't want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series.

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend--and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against--and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

"A dark and twisty fantasy . . . think Game of Thrones, but with teens."--Seventeen

"Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist."--Buzzfeed

"Will completely spin you into another time and place."--Bustle

"Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction."--NPR.org

An ALA Rainbow List Top Ten Selection

About the Author


KIERSTEN WHITE is the New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken, Now I Rise, the Paranormalcy trilogy, the dark thrillers Mind Games and Perfect Lies, The Chaos of Stars, Illusions of Fate, and In the Shadows with Jim Di Bartolo. Her books have won several awards, including the Utah Book Award, the Evergreen Young Adult Book Award, and the Whitney Award, and have been named an ALA-YALSA Teen Top Ten Best Book, a Florida Teens Read Selection, and a Texas Lone Star Reading List Selection, among other accolades. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, which, in spite of its perfection, spurs her to dream of faraway places and even further away times. kierstenwhite.com @kierstenwhite on Twitter.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780553522341
ISBN-10: 0553522345
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: And I Darken

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060